Low Res Staged Reading #2: Bravely Fought the Queen by Mahesh Dattani

Bravely announcer.png

We are happy to announce the second staged reading in our Low Res experimental series – Bravely Fought the Queen, written by Mahesh Dattani and directed by Anirban Chakraborty.

There are 2 reading dates, both to be held at our Belmont studio:
- Friday, September 21st at 8pm  
- Sunday, September 23rd at 2pm

Admission is free. RSVP is required to attend. Seating is limited and will be assigned on a first come first served basis.

If you'd like to reserve a spot at one of the two readings:
1. Please RSVP to as early as you can to


2. Indicate which date you'd like to attend. If you have no preference on dates, be sure to mention this in your email as well.
3. You will receive a confirmation email with details within 24-48 hours of signing up.

Note: Readings on both dates will be identical. If you've signed up to attend one reading, you will not need to come to the other.

About the play

Bravely Fought the Queen juggles between two spaces – centre stage where an empirical drama removes the mask of hypocrisy from a seemingly ‘normal’ urban household; and a small, rear backdrop from where emerges the raison d’être of each protagonist. The family in focus is that of two brothers, Jiten and Nitin, who run an advertising agency and are married to sisters: Dolly and Alka. Their mother, Baa, moves between the two households, attached more to her memories of the past than to any present reality. Marital friction, sibling rivalry, the traditional tension between mother-in-law and daughters-in-law, the darker moments of business and personal dealings, the play takes us through the entire gamut of emotional experience as it winds to a climactic finish. With its relentless pace, crisp idiom and unflinching insight into the urban milieu, this is a play that confirms Mahesh Dattani’s reputation as India’s most influential playwright.

Dolly- Ekta Brahmkshatri 
Alka - Malavika Jayasimha 
Lalitha - Pavani Patil 
Baa - Anjali Kirloskar 
Jiten - Anirban Chakraborty 
Nitin - Prabhat Telidevara 
Sridhar - Kartic Bhargav 

Basab Pradhan